Anyone with a general understanding of motorcycles and the motorcycle market can see this website coming a mile away.
Almost all, if not everyone, of the bikes listed on searchMotorcycle.com are thousands of dollars less than what they are worth. When at first it seems like you've found an extremely lucky find, you'll quickly notice that all the bikes listed are "lucky finds".
The site says it works as an intermediary for buyers and sellers and allows visitors to sign up and do both. I contacted three separate sellers, all having bikes for sale for a curiously low amount of money, saying I had cash in hand and was ready to buy. All three sellers contacted me within a few days.
The Catch? All three sellers were currently overseas. Humourously all three were also living in London. Sounded fishy.
So I replied requesting how we should go about closing the deal.
All replied by offering to pay the overseas shipping costs themselves (who knows how expensive that could be?!) as long as I wired the money in advance... Sure.
I'm not quite certain how many people run this little hoax but on the surface they certainly have their act together. The website is not at all shoddy and appears completely legitimate.
Most motorcycle pictures are taken from other peoples sites and used as "real" pictures. Some ads used the same pics from other sellers! Srangely the site demands that any impression of false ads should be reported to [email protected].
I naturally wrote them an email explaining how three different sellers were trying to dupe me and never recieved a response. The ads I alerted them to were not taken down either.
The lesson here is definately: If it Looks too Good to be True, it most certainly is.
0 comments