» » Metropolitan Adjustment Bureau - First American Payment Systems - Merimac Capital - Shawn Chatman | 214698

Complaint / review / scam report
Metropolitan Adjustment Bureau - First American Payment Systems - Merimac Capital - Shawn Chatman
Is messing with my credit rating, ripoff

Complaint / review text:
Shortly after closing of my business on June 15th 2003 I started receiving phone calls from a Mr Shawn Chatman from Merimac Capital usually at 7:30 Am two or three times a week. The calls continued until I believe January of 2004. Shawn would always tell me that I had a 48 month non-cancelable lease on credit card processing equipment and I still owed him $2400.00 that he demanded I pay.

I informed him I was in the process of filing bankruptcy and he would have to get in line with the rest of the creditors.in July of 2003 he sent a letter requesting the return of the equipment via Fedex and enclosed the Shipping Lables. (see attached letter) I returned the terminals using his shipping labels.

Merimac Capitol is a registered trade mark of
First American Payment Systems, they are the same company. I included the Merimac Capital amount of $2929.15 in the Bankruptcy. I never received and never included any bill or amount from First American Payment Systems in the bankruptcy.

On July 26th 2006 while trying to secure a new mortgage on my house I found that Metropolitan Adjustment Bureau was reporting to Experian a past due amount for Merimac of $3033, and a past due amount for First American of $104. If the account was discharged in the bankruptcy can there be a past due amount?

8/18/06 Merimac reports $3052 Past Due
8/18/06 First American Reports $0
8/22/06 Merimac reported as Closed
8/22/06 First American reported as $104
9/28/06 Merimac reported as closed
9/28/06 First American reported as $3080 Due
3/19/07 Merimac reported as $3197 Due
3/19/07 First American reported as $0

In Sept of 2006 I called Metropolitan Adjustment Bureau because filing the disputed report with Experian did not change the report. Metro reported the info as correct. The lady that answered the phone couldn't find the record because she said the account number was not correct. I told her that it said on the report that it had been updated by Jeff? She said there is no Jeff working here, (sound of someone talking in the background) uh uh I'm transferring your call now.

Next a man who said his name was George answered and I told him I believed that they was reporting a duplicate report Which I would like to straighten out. His response was Hey you can't just file bankruptcy and not return the equipment, your problem is with the Credit Reporting Agency so tell it to them. Then he hung up on me.

This is certainly a ripoff company and the more I look around on the net I find a bunch of them doing the same thing. If you have a credit card machine lease you better find out what the lease terms are before you get a surprise like I did. Due to federal bankruptcy laws it is imposible for this company to ever leagally collect so they are just doing this as harrasment. They SUCK

Contact information:
Author: Contact with Author

Offender: Metropolitan Adjustment Bureau - First American Payment Systems - Merimac Capital - Shawn Chatman

Country: USA   State: California   City: Woodland Hills
Address: 22212 Ventura Blvd
Phone: 8188888400

Category: Business & Finance

0 comments

Information
Members, of group Guest, can not leave comments on this publication.
Please register on our website, it will take a few seconds.