» » HughesNet-Directway | 313836

Complaint / review / scam report
HughesNet-Directway
My wife and I are fed up with on/off again Speeds on ProPlus Plan - Top Home Plan

Complaint / review text:
We purchased the ProPlus Service from HughesNet in Late November, 2007 on a 24 month plan. This included all equipment and a monthly rate of $101.00. Which is very expensive for us.

I have been tracking performance and here is an example. I haven't been tracking on a daily basis, so this may be just the tip of the iceberg for Lower than normal numbers on Downloads and Uploads.

Day of Week DATE TIME DOWNLOAD/KBPS UPLOAD/KBPS Download comparison to 56K (Download speed / 52Kbps) Download Speed at 1.5mbps to 56Kbps (Optimal Speed Number) Difference in our DLS and Optimal
Thursday 01/24/2008 10:11 AM 904 98 17.38 26.79 9.4
Thursday 01/24/2008 10:14 PM 685 77 13.17 26.79 13.61
Thursday 01/24/2008 10:18 PM 911 112 17.52 26.79 9.27
Saturday 01/26/2008 01:39 PM 845 141 16.25 26.79 10.54
Saturday 01/26/2008 10:34 PM 1140 194 21.92 26.79 4.86
Sunday 01/27/2008 10:37 AM 1226 195 23.58 26.79 3.21
Sunday 01/27/2008 02:07 PM 1057 147 20.33 26.79 6.46
Sunday 01/27/2008 08:20 PM 1119 162 21.52 26.79 5.27
Monday 01/28/2008 06:07 PM 1079 193 20.75 26.79 6.04
Friday 02/01/2008 03:42 PM 1219 185 23.44 26.79 3.34
Saturday 02/02/2008 05:56 PM 1236 177 23.77 26.79 3.02
Wednesday 02/06/2008 08:29 PM 824 156 15.85 26.79 10.94
Wednesday 02/06/2008 08:32 PM 932 103 17.92 26.79 8.86
Sunday 02/10/2008 12:22 AM 1048 142 20.15 26.79 6.63
Wednesday 02/13/2008 10:07 PM 664 68 12.77 26.79 14.02
Wednesday 02/13/2008 10:08 PM 876 58 16.85 26.79 9.94
Thursday 02/14/2008 08:54 PM 676 38 13 26.79 13.79
Thursday 02/14/2008 08:56 PM 808 150 15.54 26.79 11.25
Monday 02/18/2008 10:32 PM 884 193 17 26.79 9.79
Monday 02/25/2008 08:13 PM 959 63 18.44 26.79 8.34
Monday 02/25/2008 08:15 PM 769 53 14.79 26.79 12
Tuesday 03/04/2008 08:43 PM 655 118 12.6 26.79 14.19
Tuesday 03/04/2008 08:45 PM 711 136 13.67 26.79 13.11
Wednesday 03/05/2008 02:43 AM 1238 189 23.81 26.79 2.98
Friday 03/07/2008 01:05 PM 1090 194 20.96 26.79 5.82
Friday 03/07/2008 08:11 PM 815 189 15.67 26.79 11.11
Friday 03/07/2008 09:51 PM 990 122 19.04 26.79 7.75
Saturday 03/08/2008 08:10 PM 1140 102 21.92 26.79 4.86
Sunday 03/09/2008 07:37 PM 943 81 18.13 26.79 8.65
Sunday 03/16/2008 09:51 AM 1168 168 22.46 26.79 4.32
Sunday 03/16/2008 09:51 PM 1168 168 22.46 26.79 4.32
Monday 03/17/2008 08:06 PM 1029 79 19.79 26.79 7
Tuesday 03/18/2008 04:21 PM 22 541 0.42 26.79 26.36
Tuesday 03/18/2008 07:48 PM 17 502 0.33 26.79 26.46
Wednesday 03/19/2008 08:00 PM 965 171 18.56 26.79 8.23
Wednesday 03/19/2008 08:25 AM 1064 120 20.46 26.79 6.32
Saturday 03/22/2008 11:20 AM 1223 186 23.52 26.79 3.27
Sunday 03/23/2008 06:30 PM 998 188 19.19 26.79 7.59
Saturday 03/29/2008 12:02 PM 1194 193 22.96 26.79 3.82
Saturday 03/29/2008 02:58 PM 1034 115 19.88 26.79 6.9
Monday 03/31/2008 07:50 PM 843 170 16.21 26.79 10.57
Monday 03/31/2008 07:52 PM 1124 158 21.62 26.79 5.17
Tuesday 04/01/2008 08:54 PM 870 68 16.73 26.79 10.05
Wednesday 04/02/2008 09:57 PM 1005 65 19.33 26.79 7.46
Wednesday 04/02/2008 10:00 PM 1105 71 21.25 26.79 5.54
Thursday 04/03/2008 10:53 AM 1185 158 22.79 26.79 4
Thursday 04/03/2008 10:54 AM 1183 147 22.75 26.79 4.04
Saturday 04/05/2008 06:26 PM 1114 180 21.42 26.79 5.36
Sunday 04/06/2008 09:15 AM 1158 150 22.27 26.79 4.52
Wednesday 04/16/2008 09:02 PM 1103 191 21.21 26.79 5.57
Wednesday 04/16/2008 09:05 PM 1137 192 21.87 26.79 4.92
Thursday 04/17/2008 04:17 PM 1223 184 23.52 26.79 3.27
Friday 04/18/2008 03:30 AM 61 142 1.17 26.79 25.61
Friday 04/18/2008 03:31 AM 1227 187 23.6 26.79 3.19
Monday 04/21/2008 04:21 PM 1103 124 21.21 26.79 5.57
Monday 04/21/2008 04:57 PM 969 70 18.63 26.79 8.15
Wednesday 04/23/2008 08:38 PM 944 102 18.15 26.79 8.63
Wednesday 04/23/2008 08:39 PM 1065 102 20.48 26.79 6.3
Wednesday 05/26/2008 09:01 AM 1388 196 26.69 26.79 0.09
Thursday 05/26/2008 09:37 AM 1383 12 26.6 26.79 0.19
Friday 05/29/2008 05:49 PM 8 1683 0.15 26.79 26.63
Saturday 05/29/2008 06:21 PM 23 119 0.44 26.79 26.34
Sunday 05/29/2008 10:09 PM 13 274 0.25 26.79 26.54
Monday 05/30/2008 12:12 PM 1263 115 24.29 26.79 2.5
Tuesday 05/30/2008 06:07 PM 1395 115 26.83 26.79 -0.04
Wednesday 06/11/2008 11:54 PM 1223 145 23.52 26.79 3.27
Saturday 06/14/2008 09:14 PM 611 87 11.75 26.79 15.04
Saturday 06/14/2008 09:24 PM 859 50 16.52 26.79 10.27

We should be getting better service, especially for Satellite service. When the download speed is below 750 mbps, this is just 7.50% better than Dial-up at 56kbps. It is a chronic problem on delivery speeds. They (Hughesnet) say it is because everybody is on, but when I called "WildBlue" a competitor, they say HughesNet is using a Narrow-beam technology that limits speeds, whereas "WildBlue" uses a broad-beam technology that delivers more consistent download/upload speeds to all customers, not like the narrow-beam limitations that HughesNet imposes upon their customers.

Everytime I call HughesNet about finding my speed down or my modem is acting up or locked up, which by the way is at least 2 to 3 times a month, they just tell me to reboot the modem. This does not always fix it. They say the equipment is out of warranty and this is June, 2008 and the fact that we did not purchase a $12.95 service plan (Monthly) that if they come out, we have to pay them $200.00 just to come out and fix the issue, which in our opinion is their equipment is "Crap" and has been from the original installation in Late November, 2007.

HughesNet wants to charge us $700.00 for backing out of the contract with them for 24 months and charge us the $101.00 monthly cost for the remaining months left in the contract through October, 2009. A whopping $2,316.00 just to get out of this ridiculous contract with crappy service.

I can't afford to just tell HughesNet to "kiss my ass, I would love to" and tell them to pickup their equipment, but to convert to their competitor "WildBlue" is going to cost me the Equipment Cost ($300), plus the 24 month commitment ($2160.00) just to change. I just can't do this right now. I am Stuck and Frustrated at the same time.

I am suprised that with all the negative reports i have read on the Internet, that HughesNet is not out of business by now. Add me to the complaint list. HughesNet needs to be OUT OF BUSINESS, they tell you one thing, do another and then tell you a song and dance. Honesty is necessary in dealings with the public and they have been anything other than Honest. I can't even get a copy of the original contract I supposedly signed with the technician. The only thing I signed was the "Installation Instructions" from the installer... Well the saga goes on.

Cherock, the indian
Somewhere in Central Texas, Texas
U.S.A.

Contact information:
Author: Contact with Author

Offender: HughesNet-Directway

Country: USA   State: All USA
Address: http://customercare. myhughesnet. com
Phone: 8663473292

Category: Shops, Products, Services

0 comments

Information
Members, of group Guest, can not leave comments on this publication.
Please register on our website, it will take a few seconds.