Independent profile — not affiliated with Whatnot
Whatnot
Whatnot Inc. operates the Whatnot live-stream shopping marketplace, where independent sellers sell items to buyers and Whatnot collects payment and runs a Buyer Protection policy. As displayed on 2026-10-14, BBB shows an F rating with 1,000 complaints in three years and Trustpilot shows 4.2 from 12,245 reviews. This page explains the cancellation, refund and support routes, quoted from Whatnot's own help pages, and lists court dockets without describing claims the dockets do not state.
Independent Sources
Shown for context — not merged with USAComplaints' own numbers.
Contacts
- Official website: https://www.whatnot.com/
- Help Center (support requests, Buyer Protection): https://help.whatnot.com/hc/en-us
- Arbitration opt-out notices only: [email protected]
Locations
| Type | Address |
|---|---|
| Mailing address | 2261 Market Street, Suite 10754 San Francisco CA 94114 |
Whatnot order problems: how to cancel, report an issue, get a refund or reach support (checked October 14, 2026)
Cancel before it ships. Whatnot's cancellation article says a buyer can request cancellation in the app or on whatnot.com 'any time before the seller creates a shipping label' or 'within 24 hours of purchase, as long as the order has not been shipped'. The request goes to the seller, who has two business days to respond; if declined or unanswered, 'the order remains final and will ship as scheduled'. The same article states 'all bids are binding under our Community Guidelines' and that pre-bids cannot be canceled. It lists limited situations in which Whatnot Support may review or make an exception: a technical issue while bidding in an auction, to be reported within 2 hours, and a one-time cancellation if no shipping label has been created and no exception was given before; it adds that contacting Support 'doesn't guarantee that an order can be canceled'.
Report a problem with a purchase. Per Whatnot's help pages, open Activity, then Purchases, select the order and tap 'Get help with this purchase', choose the option that matches the issue and attach photos or screenshots. Depending on the case the request goes to the seller (if the seller offers Seller Provided Support) or to Whatnot Support, and an unresolved seller case can be escalated to Whatnot. Where Whatnot asks for a return, the help page says it sends a prepaid label, the item is to be shipped within 5 business days, and an approved refund is processed after the returned item is received. The seller-support article says sellers on Seller Provided Support are expected to respond within two business days and that, if a seller does not respond and the buyer escalates, 'Whatnot will step in'.
Deadlines. Whatnot's Buyer Protection page says refund requests must be submitted within 14 days of delivery or 30 days from purchase, whichever comes first; the page lists 7 days from delivery for Coins & Money, Sports Cards, Sneakers & Streetwear, Trading Card Games and Luxury Goods, and 2 days for Plants, Meat & Seafood and Specialty Food. For suspected inauthentic items it allows a request within 30 days of receiving the order, and for an item marked delivered but not received it says to contact support within 14 days of when the carrier marked it delivered, with approval 'not guaranteed'. The separate 'Get help with your purchase' page lists the 2-day window for Plants only; the two Whatnot pages are quoted side by side here and differ on whether Meat & Seafood and Specialty Food are included.
What the policy says is not covered. Among the listed exclusions: changing your mind, refused delivery, and 'Orders that have been disputed with a financial institution' (chargebacks). Whatnot's help page also says 'Approving a refund doesn't necessarily mean the seller was at fault.'
Contacting support. The Contact page says 'We don't currently offer phone support'; account issues go through Account, then Contact Us in the app, and the page says a team member will respond 'within 48 hours, usually sooner'. A virtual assistant called Whatbot may be the first point of contact for sellers. Refunds are described as taking 3-5 business days to appear.
Outside routes. If the company's process does not resolve a purchase problem, consumers can file a complaint with the FTC at ReportFraud.ftc.gov, with their state attorney general, or with the BBB; disputing a charge with the card issuer is a separate route, and Whatnot's policy says chargeback-disputed orders are not eligible for its own refund.
Regulator actions: none identified in the sources checked on October 14, 2026
No FTC, CFPB, CPSC or state attorney general enforcement action naming Whatnot was identified in the sources checked on 2026-10-14. This is a scoped statement: the FTC site search page returned an error when opened, and the CPSC and SaferProducts.gov searches were not read in a way that could confirm a negative result, so those checks are not complete.
A lookup of the CFPB consumer complaint database company list for 'whatnot' returned no matching company name on 2026-10-14. That says nothing about whether complaints exist elsewhere; consumers can still submit a complaint to the CFPB or FTC.
Who operates Whatnot and how the marketplace works
Whatnot's U.S. Terms of Service (Version 2.0, effective March 4, 2026) describe the app as 'an online marketplace that connects users', with sales largely made through seller live streams and auctions. The Legal Center footer reads 'Copyright (c) 2026, Whatnot Inc.', and BBB lists the business as Whatnot, a corporation with alternate name 'Whatnot Inc', incorporated November 8, 2019 according to BBB's page data, and names Logan Head and Grant LaFontaine as co-founders. Users in the EU or UK are covered by separate terms with Whatnot Europe Ltd. (Cork, Ireland).
Company announcements. In a post dated July 15, 2026 Whatnot said it 'has acquired Shaped', a machine learning company, and in a post dated August 7, 2026 it said it was 'announcing $545 million in Series G funding'. These are the company's own statements.
Platform role. The Terms say Whatnot 'is not a party to any agreement between buyers and sellers', and that each seller appoints Whatnot as its limited payment collection agent. Sellers describe items and are responsible for accuracy; Whatnot offers its own Buyer Protection policy and Seller Protection policy for order issues. The Terms also say Whatnot may charge sellers a cancellation charge of the greater of $3 or 3 percent of the order amount for seller-initiated cancellations.
Disputes with Whatnot. The U.S. Terms contain an arbitration agreement with a class action waiver and an opt-out by written notice to [email protected] or the Notice Address in San Francisco, which the Terms say must be sent within 30 days of the date posted at the top of the Terms or the user's first use of the App, whichever is later; residents of jurisdictions where mandatory arbitration is prohibited are carved out. The Terms are governed by the Federal Arbitration Act and California law.
BBB and Trustpilot data as displayed on October 14, 2026
These are third-party snapshots; they are not summed or averaged with each other or with this site's own records.
- BBB (Whatnot, Marina Del Rey, CA): not BBB Accredited; rating F; reasons shown are 'Failure to respond to 740 complaint(s) filed against business' and '31 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved'. The complaints tab shows 1,000 total complaints in the last 3 years and 410 filed in the last 12 months; the reviews tab shows 1.48/5 from an average of 224 customer reviews. BBB's file was opened September 7, 2021 per the page data. BBB cautions that displayed complaint text might not represent all complaints filed.
- Trustpilot (whatnot.com): 4.2 TrustScore from 12,245 reviews; the profile is claimed (since July 2021) with a paid Trustpilot subscription, and the page says the company invites customers to review and replied to 58 percent of negative reviews.
The Trustpilot page displays 70% of reviews as 5-star and 14% as 1-star. The two sources use different review populations and methods, so the difference between them is not explained by either page.
This site has no archived consumer complaints about Whatnot, so no complaint themes are listed here.
Court dockets naming Whatnot (federal, as listed on CourtListener on October 14, 2026)
A CourtListener search by case name on 2026-10-14 returned six federal dockets with 'Whatnot' in the caption. The dockets reviewed show filings, not findings; where the docket does not state the claims, they are not described here.
- Annunziata v. Whatnot, Inc. and Kirsten Lejnieks, S.D. Fla. No. 0:26-cv-62449: verified complaint filed September 3, 2026; an extension of time to respond was filed October 1 and ordered October 2, 2026.
- Parker v. Whatnot Inc., D. Utah No. 2:25-cv-01174: removed by Whatnot on December 31, 2025 from Utah's Third District Court (Salt Lake County); stayed on March 10, 2026 pending an arbitrator's determination of arbitrability.
- Gill v. Whatnot, Inc., W.D. Va. No. 7:24-cv-00299: filed May 6, 2024; notice of voluntary dismissal without prejudice filed August 7, 2024; order of August 26, 2024 dismissing the case without prejudice.
- Ligon v. Whatnot Inc., S.D.N.Y. No. 1:23-cv-05093: filed June 16, 2023; voluntarily dismissed without prejudice July 6-7, 2023.
- Toro v. Whatnot Inc., S.D.N.Y. No. 1:22-cv-06459: filed July 29, 2022; voluntarily dismissed with prejudice, order August 19, 2022.
Filed by the company. Separately, Whatnot Inc. filed a petition on September 2, 2026 in C.D. Cal. (No. 2:26-cv-09830) to confirm an arbitration award against Queenzfinest, Inc.; the docket shows service returned executed on September 16, 2026 and an initial order entered October 5, 2026, with no ruling on the petition as displayed that day. It is a company-initiated matter, not a consumer complaint against Whatnot.
Is Whatnot Legitimate?
Whatnot Inc. is a corporation that operates the Whatnot live-stream marketplace; its U.S. Terms of Service, Help Center, and a BBB profile naming 'Whatnot Inc' as an alternate name were opened on 2026-10-14. The company publishes a Buyer Protection policy with stated deadlines and exclusions. BBB displays an F rating with 1,000 complaints in three years, while Trustpilot displays 4.2 from 12,245 reviews; those are separate third-party measures. Items on the platform are sold by independent sellers, and Whatnot's Terms say it is not a party to buyer-seller agreements.
Readers with a specific order should compare the deadline and coverage rules above with their situation and keep order records and photos.
Court & Public Records
| Case | Authority | Dates | Type | Outcome | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Annunziata v. Whatnot, Inc. and Kirsten Lejnieks Docket No. 0:26-cv-62449 | U.S. District Court, Southern District of Florida | Filed | Filed — no final outcome recorded Verified complaint filed September 3, 2026; summons issued the same day; an extension of time to respond to the complaint was ordered October 2, 2026. The docket text available on CourtListener does not state the claims, so they are not described here. | Source | |
| Parker v. Whatnot Inc. Docket No. 2:25-cv-01174 | U.S. District Court, District of Utah | Filed | Filed — no final outcome recorded Notice of removal filed by Whatnot Inc. on December 31, 2025 from Utah Third District Court, Salt Lake County (case 250908944). Whatnot filed a motion to compel arbitration on February 6, 2026; on March 10, 2026 the court granted the parties' stipulated motion and stayed the action 'in its entirety pending a determination by the arbitrator regarding the threshold issue of arbitrability', and on March 11 denied the motion to compel as moot. Docket entries through August 27, 2026 concern counsel appearances and withdrawal. The docket text does not state the claims, so they are not described here. | Source | |
| Gill v. Whatnot, Inc. Docket No. 7:24-cv-00299 | U.S. District Court, Western District of Virginia | Dismissed | Dismissed Plaintiff filed a notice of voluntary dismissal without prejudice on August 7, 2024 and the clerk entered dismissal under Rule 41 on August 9, 2024; the court's order of August 26, 2024 states the case is dismissed without prejudice and stricken from the active docket. The docket as displayed does not state the claims. | Source | |
| Ligon v. Whatnot Inc. Docket No. 1:23-cv-05093 | U.S. District Court, Southern District of New York | Dismissed | Dismissed Plaintiff's notice of voluntary dismissal without prejudice under Rule 41(a)(1)(A)(i) was filed July 6, 2023 and so ordered July 7, 2023. The docket as displayed does not state the claims. | Source | |
| Toro v. Whatnot Inc. Docket No. 1:22-cv-06459 | U.S. District Court, Southern District of New York | Dismissed | Dismissed Plaintiff's notice of voluntary dismissal with prejudice under Rule 41(a)(1)(A)(i) was filed August 18, 2022 and so ordered August 19, 2022. The docket as displayed does not state the claims. | Source |
Frequently Asked Questions
How can I cancel a Whatnot order?
Whatnot's help article says buyers can request cancellation before the seller creates a shipping label or within 24 hours of purchase if the order has not shipped. The seller has two business days to respond; if declined or unanswered the order ships. The article says bids are binding and approval is not guaranteed.
What deadline applies to a Whatnot refund request?
Whatnot's Buyer Protection page says requests must be submitted within 14 days of delivery or 30 days from purchase, whichever comes first, with 7 days from delivery for categories such as Sports Cards and Trading Card Games and 2 days for Plants and food items. Suspected inauthentic items have a 30-day window from receipt.
Does Whatnot have a customer service phone number?
Whatnot's Contact page states 'We don't currently offer phone support.' Requests are made through the app (Account, then Contact Us) or from the order page via 'Get help with this purchase', and the page says a reply comes within 48 hours, usually sooner.
What happens to a Whatnot refund if I dispute the charge with my bank?
Whatnot's Buyer Protection page lists 'Chargebacks: Orders that have been disputed with a financial institution are not eligible for refunds.' Consumers weighing a card dispute should read that exclusion first; the card issuer's own rules are a separate matter.
What does Whatnot Buyer Protection not cover?
The Help Center lists changing your mind after buying, items that do not suit your preference or size, and flaws the seller clearly disclosed before purchase as not covered, along with exclusions such as refused delivery, off-platform transactions and chargebacks.
Who operates Whatnot?
The Legal Center reads 'Copyright (c) 2026, Whatnot Inc.', and BBB lists Whatnot with the alternate name Whatnot Inc, incorporated November 8, 2019 per BBB's page data. EU and UK users contract with Whatnot Europe Ltd. of Cork, Ireland under separate terms.
Can I sue Whatnot or join a class action?
The U.S. Terms of Service contain an arbitration agreement with a class action waiver and allow small claims court. They say a written opt-out notice to [email protected] or the San Francisco notice address must be sent within 30 days of the date posted at the top of the Terms or the user's first use of the App, whichever is later, and exclude residents of jurisdictions where mandatory arbitration is prohibited. Read the current Terms for the exact wording.
What is Whatnot's BBB rating?
As displayed on 2026-10-14, BBB's profile for Whatnot (Marina Del Rey, CA) shows an F rating, is not BBB Accredited, and lists 1,000 complaints in the last 3 years and 410 in the last 12 months, with a 1.48/5 average from 224 customer reviews.
Where do sellers get help with an order dispute or chargeback?
Whatnot's Contact page says sellers open Seller Hub, then Orders, select the order and tap 'Get help with this order'. Its Seller Protection page says Whatnot manages chargebacks and payment disputes directly and describes an appeals path if a seller believes context was missed.