Adaptive Tech Co
Adaptivetechco.com

Miscellaneous

I found an ad on Craigslist and, like most desperate job seekers, applied to it in the eternal hope of a response. About an hour later I received an email. My heart jumped! A bite! Maybe we'll be able to pay the rent! Nope... The email I received reads as follows (with my name omitted): & Hello [name], Thank you for your interest in becoming a member at Adaptive Tech Co. Your
main duties will be record keeping and data entry. You will need to be
able to use Microsoft Office programs such as Word, Power Point,
Access, and Excel. Also, doing such errands as copying and faxing
documents. We have a full and part time available. The full
time position requires 35 hours a week; Mon-Fri, 10am-5pm. The part
time position requires 20 hours a week; Mon-Fri, 10am-2pm. We are
looking to fill both positions in 2 weeks. Pay is $16/hour and
benefits will be discussed during the in person interview. If
you are interested in the full time or part time position, please
submit your job application at link below. Once you filled out the
application, you will be asked to create a Beyond Jobs account, as we
use their services to maintain our resume applicants. It's free and
takes only 2 minutes to upload your resume. Http://www.adaptivetechco.com / apply We here at Adaptive Tech Co. Look forward to meeting and further discuss this postion with you. Susan Chambers Adaptive Tech Co & Sounds great! I can do all those things and more! I'm a perfect candidate for this! And $16 and hour... Forget about it! Blinded by the generous hourly wage, I forgot the most important warning: CAVEAT EMPTOR. BUYER BEWARE! If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. Duly impressed by so professional-sounding an email, I clicked on the link to go check out their website. Nice website... Plain, crisp, clean. Too clean. There's nothing about offering any services to clients. Nothing on how they sell their products (except selling those who sign up with them a product). I try to browse the website. Website? More like three pages and the "application page" says "Blog Archive" if you look up on your browser page information (or the label of the tab as it were). Blog Archive? Why does a company need a Blog Archive for is application page? I look up at the URL http://adaptivetechco.com/apply / and notice that it's "http" and not "https". Look for the "s" on websites... It means that the page you're on is layered, encoded and (as good as anyone's yet been able to get it) secure. Application pages of legit companies encode their pages where you have to enter any personal information (such as passwords, address, contact info, etc.). There's no solid information about the company, just a bunch of well-written mumbo jumbo about what a great company it is. If you actually read the first paragraph (which I was in too much of a hurry to do), it says: "Adaptive Tech Co. Is an Internet Publishing and consulting company. Adaptive Tech Co.
Is growing rapidly, and we are looking to purchase many more high
quality web site properties on any topic and subject. We are located
near downtown in." In... in...? In where in what? Who are you people? Where are you people? If you really start to read the webpage, it's nothing. There is no real text, just repeated over and over. Words that catch a prospects eyes " marketing and sales consulting", "optimize", " 10,000 to 200,000 visitors to your web sites per year", " subject matter experts (SME) in our industry"... All sounding legit and very profressional. It's fluff. My suspicions mount and my initial glee at finally finding a job turns to anger and a desire to out the "company." I googled the company and found nothing but complaints on how it's a scam. Unfortunately there was nothing reported on usacomplaints.com, so I decided to let everyone know: THIS IS A PHISHING SCAM! The "application" is so they can get your information (you really don't need much information to steal someone's identity or begin the process anyway). As you probably know, "phishing" is an attempt to acquire personal information such as usernames, passwords, address and credit card details by masquerading as a trustworthy entity in an electronic communication. For a full report on "phishing" see http://en. Wikipedia.org/wiki/Phishing.in summation, just remember what I almost didn't: CAVEAT EMPTOR!


Company: Adaptive Tech Co
Country: USA
Site: adaptivetechco.com
  <     >  

RELATED COMPLAINTS

Adaptive Tech Co
Video Professor Adaptive Tech Co. Is a Scam, There is no real job offer with this company

Harris and Clark
"staffing agency" asks for credit check and personal information over the internet before you apply to the position! Internet

Jones and Lang
Consumer Report

Davis and Parke
Consumer Report

Career-Network, Inc
Scam

First Premier Staffing
Consumer Report

Davis and Parke
Consumer Report

Digital-Cooling-Solutions.info
Consumer Report

Natalie Hudson / Rustox
Applied to a Secretary/Service Consultant position on Craigslist. Rustox. SCAM! Internet Based Michigan

Career Network
Career Network - thebestcareersource.com Asking for personal, professional references in their on-line form for bogus jobs posted on craigslist